Bo Lings, Overland Park

Bo Lings
9055 Metcalf Ave.
Overland Park, KS

This is my last installment of my DC to Denver road trip. Much apologies about the delay in all these posts, given that it’s now a month and a half since I started the road trip! Things are a little settled down now in my new home in Albuquerque. Speaking of Albuquerque, tomorrow’s Labor Day blog post will expound on Vietnamese food in the Duke City.

Now back to the road trip. On the third night of my trip I stopped in Overland Park, KS, a suburb right outside of Kansas City. The following day was a Sunday, which was a prime day to eat Dim Sum. I wasn’t sure what to expect in the Kansas City, especially on the Kansas side where I assumed there wasn’t a lot of authentic Chinese food. A quick Google and yelp search steered me toward Bo Lings, which seemed reasonably authentic based on the review and the website. The next morning I drove ten miles from my hotel to a nondescript strip mall in the middle of the suburb.

When I entered I was warmly greeted by the hostess, who wrote down my name, number in my party, and handed me one of those electronic buzzers that you’d find while waiting for a table at Cheesecake Factory or Olive Garden. As I waited for a table the restaurant was impressively decorated. There was definitely a Chinese/oriental theme to it, but a more modern styling as opposed to some aging restaurants stuck in the 1980s movie set in Chinatown. They also had a side grill table where cooks were grilling daikon cakes, dried shrimp rice noodle rolls, and potstickers. All of this definitely put me at ease and I couldn’t wait to be seated.

Bo Lings 1

After I was seated and given my choice of tea (almost always Chrysanthemum), the carts started rolling by. I first got some freshly blanched Chinese broccoli, pan fried daikon cakes, and steamed tofu skin rolls stuffed with pork and vegetables. They were all pretty good with the daikon cakes perfectly fried (crispy outside but chewy and soft on the inside) and Chinese broccoli with the perfect crunch and light coating of oyster sauce. Next came the shu mai which was decent, though not the best I’ve had. It was flavorful though the pork meatball filling was slightly overcooked and a little too chewy. Then came the fried sticky rice which was great and generously filled with Chinese sausage. Last but not least, I had the silken tofu in sweet herbal soup for dessert. It was delicious.

Bo Lings 2

The servers were also pretty decent in refilling my tea and ice water. It took a little bit to get my check in the end, but I wasn’t in too much of a hurry. However, the bill was definitely a bit of sticker shock. The bill came out to about $30, when it would normally cost $15 or so in LA, New York, or even Denver.

All in all, I was definitely surprised to find such quality Dim Sum around Kansas City. I would definitely come back again if I am in or around Kansas City for a road trip or business trip, but more prepared for the bill. It’s a good reminder of what Dim Sum prices are generally like when you’re not in the San Gabriel Valley.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

